Gower proves a big hit in Suffolk

November 12, 2023

FORMER England captain David Gower was a big hit at the Marshall Hatchick Two Counties Championship Presentation Dinner.

Gower, who played 117 Tests and 114 One-Day Internationals for England, regaled 180 guests at Venue 16 in Ipswich on Saturday evening with tales from his career.

The elegant left-handed bat, who led England to victory in the 1985 Ashes, entertained the audience with stories about his time in both international and county cricket.

Gower, who has had a successful career as a cricket commentator and television personality since his retirement, told anecdotes about some of the great players he encountered.

These included tales about fellow Englishmen Sir Ian Botham and Graham Gooch as well as West Indies legend Sir Viv Richards and the late, great Australian leg spinner Shane Warne.

Gower, who is 66, played with Warne at Hampshire, where he now lives, after leaving Leicestershire.

The evening included a three-course meal as well as the presentation of trophies by Gower who was assisted by league president and former Suffolk opening bat John Stuck.

Rick Jones, who is secretary of the Two Counties Championship, said: “David Gower was excellent value and went above and beyond what was expected.

“On behalf of the Two Counties committee I would like to thank him for a hugely enjoyable evening.”

Gower (third from right) is pictured with Two Counties officials (left to right): Ros Coker, Alan Coker, Andrew Barnes, Wendy Eveling, Scott Button and Stuart Coker.


Two Counties Championship Roll of Honour 2023                                                                                                

Division One: Winners Halstead, runners-up Clacton, Suffolk runners-up Hadleigh CC.

Division Two: Winners Maldon, runners-up Witham II.

Division Three: Winners Frinton II, runners-up Felixstowe.

Division Four: Winners Ipswich & East Suffolk, runners-up Great Bromley.

Division Five: Winners Bardwell, runners-up Chappel & Wakes Colne.

Division Six: Winners Abberton II, runners-up Woodbridge.

Division Seven: Brightlingsea, runners-up West Mersea.

Division Eight: Winners Ipswich, runners-up Boxted.

Division Nine East: St Margarets II.

Division Nine South: Real Oddies.

Division Nine West: Acton.

Ladies’ T20 Performance: Copdock & Old Ipswichian.

Ladies’ T20 Central: Ipswich & East Suffolk.

Ladies’ T20 East: Mistley.

Ladies’ T20 West: Mildenhall.

Sunday League: Brightlingsea.


Tags: , ,

Categorised in: ,